2Insurance.Com
The Fastest Insurance Quotes Online

Your Subtitle text

State Auto Insurance Requirements

Every State has minimum Auto Insurance liability limits.  To drive legally on the public roads you must have at least the minimum requirements or you could be fined, jailed, or both.  Knowing the limits are not needed in order to get auto insurance quotes because each insurance company will provide you with options that start at the State Minimum and increase from there.  Start saving now, click below to get started with your free car insurance quotes.





The following are the minimum requirements of each State:

Alabama Auto Insurance Requirements:
Alabama Dept. of Insurance
201 Monroe St., Suite 1700
Montgomery, AL 36104
Minimum Car Insurance in Alabama ( AL ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Alaska ( AK ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Alaska Div. of Insurance / Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1560
Anchorage, AK 99501
Minimum Car Insurance in Alaska ( AK ):
$50,000 for injury/death to one person
$100,000 for total injuries/deaths per collision
$25,000 for damage to property

Arizona ( AZ ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 North 44th Street, Suite 210
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Minimum Car Insurance in Arizona ( AZ ):
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Arkansas ( AR ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Arkansas Insurance Dept. / Consumer Services Division
1200 W. Third St.
Little Rock, AR 72201
Minimum Car Insurance in Arkansas ( AR ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

California ( CA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
California Department of Insurance / Consumer Services Division
300 South Spring Street, South Tower
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Minimum Car Insurance in California ( CA ):
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property

Colorado ( CO ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
The Colorado Dept. of Insurance
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
Minimum Car Insurance in Colorado ( CO )
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property

Connecticut ( CT ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Connecticut Insurance Department
153 Market Street
Hartford, CT 6142
Minimum Car Insurance in Connecticut ( CT ):
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Delaware ( DE ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Delaware Dept. of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904
Minimum Car Insurance in Delaware ( DE ):
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Florida ( FL ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Florida Office of Insurance Reg.
200 E. Gaines St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Minimum Car Insurance in Florida ( FL ):
$10,000 for injury/death to one person
$20,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Georgia ( GA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Georgia Dept. of Insurance
2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr., West Tower, Suite 716
Atlanta, GA 30334
Minimum Car Insurance in Georgia ( GA ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Idaho ( ID ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Idaho Dept. of Insurance
700 West State St., P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Minimum Car Insurance in Idaho ( ID ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property

Illinois ( IL ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Illinois Div. of Insurance
320 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62767
Minimum Car Insurance in Illinois ( IL ):
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property

Indiana ( IN ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Indiana Dept. of car insurance / Consumer Services Division
311 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Minimum Car Insurance in Indiana ( IN ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Iowa ( IA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Iowa auto insurance Div.
330 Maple St.
Des Moines, IA 50319
Minimum Car Insurance in Iowa ( IA ):
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property

Kansas ( KS ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Kansas Dept. of Insurance
420 SW 9th St.
Topeka, KS 66612
Minimum Car Insurance in Kansas ( KS ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Kentucky ( Ky ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Kentucky Office of Insurance
215 West Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
Minimum Car Insurance in Kentucky ( KY ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Louisiana ( LA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Louisiana Department of Insurance / The Poydras Building
1702 North 3rd St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Minimum Car Insurance in Louisiana ( LA ):
$10,000 for injury/death to one person
$20,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Maine ( ME ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation / Maine Bureau of Insurance
No. 34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 4333
Minimum Car Insurance in Maine ( ME ):
$50,000 for injury/death to one person
$100,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Maryland ( MD ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Maryland Insurance Admin.
525 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202
Minimum Car Insurance in Maryland ( MD ):
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property

Massachusetts ( MA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Massachusetts Div. of Insurance
One South Station, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 2110
Minimum Car Insurance in Massachusetts ( MA ):
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property

Michigan ( MI ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Michigan Department of Auto Insurance
P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909
Minimum Car Insurance in Michigan ( MI ):
$20,000 for injury/death to one person
$40,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Minnesota ( MN ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Minnesota Dept. of Commerce
85 - 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
Minimum Car Insurance in Minnesota MN:
$30,000 for injury/death to one person
$60,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Mississippi ( MS ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Mississippi Insurance Dept. / 1001 Woolfolk State Office Bldg.
501 North West Street
Jackson, MS 39201

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Mississippi ( MS ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Missouri ( MO ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Missouri Dept. of Insurance
P.O. Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Minimum Car Insurance in Missouri ( MO ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Nebraska ( NE ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Nebraska Dept. of Automobile Insurance / Terminal Bldg.
941 "O" Street, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68508
Minimum Car Insurance in Nebraska ( NE ):
$25,000 per person injured
$50,000 total injuries for persons
$25,000 for property damage

Nevada ( NV ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Nevada Dept. of Insurance / Carson City Office
788 Fairview Drive #300
Carson City, NV 89701
Minimum Car Insurance in Nevada ( NV ):
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

New Jersey ( NJ ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
New Jersey Dept. of Banking and Insurance
PO Box 325
Trenton, NJ 8625
Minimum Car Insurance in New Jersey ( NJ ):
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property

New York ( NY ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
New York Dept. of Insurance
25 Beaver St.
New York, NY 10004
Minimum Car Insurance in New York ( NY ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

North Carolina ( NC ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Consumer Services Div. / North Carolina Dept. of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
Minimum Car Insurance in North Carolina ( NC ):
$30,000 for injury/death to one person
$60,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Ohio ( OH ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
The Ohio Department of Insurance
2100 Stella Court
Columbus, OH 43215
Minimum Car Insurance in Ohio ( OH ):
$12,500 for injury/death to one person
$25,000 for injury to more than one person
$7,500 for damage to property

Oklahoma ( OK ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Oklahoma Department of Insurance
2401 N.W. 23rd Street, Suite 28
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Minimum Car Insurance in Oklahoma ( OK ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Oregon ( OR ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, Insurance Division
350 Winter St NE Room 440
Salem, OR 97301
Minimum Car Insurance in Oregon ( OR ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property

Pennsylvania ( PA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Pennsylvania Dept. of Car Insurance / Regional Office - Harrisburg
Room 1321 Strawberry Square - Third & Walnut Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Minimum Car Insurance in Pennsylvania ( PA ):
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property

Texas ( TX ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe
Austin, TX 78701
Minimum Car Insurance in Texas ( TX ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$25,000 for damage to property

Utah ( UT ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Utah Dept. of Insurance
3110 State Office Bldg.
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Minimum Car Insurance in Utah ( UT ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$65,000 for injury to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property

Virginia ( VA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Virginia Bureau of Auto Insurance / Tyler Bldg.
1300 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Minimum Car Insurance in Virginia ( VA ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$20,000 for damage to property

Washington ( WA ) Auto Insurance Requirements:
Washington Dept. of Insurance / Central Building, Suite 650/MS: TB-03
810 3rd Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
Minimum Car Insurance in Washington ( WA ):
$25,000 for injury/death to one person
$50,000 for injury to more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property